Muscari

IMGP8818

I’m in love with these Muscari ‘Artist’ as well as some unnamed Muscari armeniacum.  Muscari are easy to force – or at least I’ve had no trouble with them. I just potted them up and left them in the fridge for 10-12 weeks (watering only when they appeared dry). I will say the bulbs chilled longer have been much more productive bloomers.

‘Tykus, Tykus’ – A Lithuanian folk song Oran sang at today’s concert which I loved.

Food52’s Piglet Tournament is back with some great cookbook reviews!

As much as my palette is perplexed by high end dining, I’m extremely taken by the visual presentation of it – see these dishes from Noma’s pop-up in Japan.

I’ve been doing a bit of reading on irises and lilies lately. I’m not sure I want to commit to either at this time because I’m not sure how long I’ll be here, but they are genera with a lot of possibility for our zone. One story I enjoyed coming across was that of the Benton irises bred by the painter Cedric Morris Cedric Morris (who is credited with breeding one of the first pink irises and a subsequent pink ’Strathmore’ that won some accolades at Chelsea in 1948). Apparently he dedicated a field to growing over a 1,000 of his own crosses. You can see some beautiful photos on Dan Pearson’s site and read a detailed catalogue entry of the painting ‘Iris Seedlings’ about the connection between Morris’ art and irises.

IMGP8853

IMGP8868

Comments Off on Muscari

Filed under Amy, Flowers, Links

Comments are closed.