September in the Conservatory Garden

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Returning to a place in New York City, and not for matters of convenience or necessity, to me reflects respect and value. There are so many ways to occupy your time, eyes, ears, palette, that choosing the known takes some commitment. It seems fitting to end my New York series of posts with the image above, taken on September 28th, in the Conservatory Garden. If I offer any apologies for my frequent photographs of this jewel of Central Park, they are only to those I have discouraged from visiting because they feel they have already seen it (a hundred times, in all seasons, in good light and poor), or worse, disliked my view of it! However, it is here that I have formed my understanding of East Coast seasons, and walking spirals through the garden has become a habitual, meditative act. I am deeply appreciative of the work the Central Park Conservancy puts into the garden.

My last two free Sundays in September started in the Frick Collection, with long pauses in front of the Comtesse d’Haussonville and Rembrandt, followed by a long walk up Fifth Ave to the Conservatory Garden for a lingering stroll, before cutting across and down the park to my friends’ apartment for our weekly dinner. That’s the New York I would return to: rich in art, gardens, and food, but made home only with good friends.

P1060996

IMG_6202

IMG_6181

IMG_6178

P1060987

IMG_6164

Comments Off on September in the Conservatory Garden

Filed under Amy

Comments are closed.