NYBG in Early August

P1060713

While this blog lay dormant I was catching up with some now-familiar parks and gardens, the first of which was the New York Botanical Garden. I had never seen the water lily collection or the rock garden before so it was an especially valuable trip. Each time I see alpine plant collections I get grabby fingers and start dreaming of alpine houses and crevice gardens.

In fact, I just watched an interesting video from the Great Dixter plant fair featuring Peter Korn, who has a seemingly supernatural ability to grow any alpine plant in his zone 4 (!) garden in Sweden, speaking about growing plants in pure sand. Needless to say, his garden has been added to the list of places that I must visit eventually and I am contemplating digging out our lawn to make a sandpile.

Anyways, back to the NYBG; the native garden looked spectacular as usual. Nothing like a large focal water feature to really give you a sense of the space. I also delighted in wandering the azalea garden, where I discovered the hydrangea featured below, Hydrangea aborescens ‘Haye’s Starburst,’ which is hardy to zone 3a. The bushes veritably dripped with the lime green and white flowers. Even more interesting is that Stokesia laevis (pictured below) is apparently native to Alberta. I think its clear blue and textured flowers would be a welcome addition to the garden.

Praying mantis!

Praying mantis!

P1060809

Allium ‘Millenium’ and Stokesia laevis

A close up of Stokesia laevis 'Peachie's Pick'

A close up of Stokesia laevis ‘Peachie’s Pick’

P1060785

Epimedium grandiflorum ‘Waterfall’

P1060844

‘Poseidon’

P1060855

‘Pink Enchantment’ reminded me strongly of a tree peony

P1060759

P1060721

The water lily collection is stunning at this time of year. Find them tucked behind the Enid A. Haupt Conservatory.

P1060718

Comments Off on NYBG in Early August

Filed under Amy

Comments are closed.