Villa Marlia

_IGP3943.JPGI’ve been reading Graham Stuart Thomas’ Trees in the Landscape, which is a celebration of British trees and a critical examination of their place in designed spaces. I’ve also been flipping through my own photos of gardens to see if I can identify some of the principles he discusses. Of course, I had to revisit the trip Uncle D and I took to Italy, including to Villa Marlia, in 2008. It was a little crazy and a lot of magical when an old Italian man let us through a locked gate and we were all alone in this massive estate. The garden has particularly dramatic allées of oak (oak!), like the one above, and more potted lemons than I had ever seen in my life, each dripping with fruit. There’s a great tour on youtube if you want to see more!

_IGP3930.JPG

_IGP3923.JPG

_IGP3914.JPG

_IGP3932.JPG

_IGP3947.JPG

_IGP3963.JPG

_IGP3948.JPG

_IGP3966.JPG

_IGP3921.JPG

_IGP3939.JPG

_IGP3971.JPG

Comments Off on Villa Marlia

Filed under Amy, Flowers

Comments are closed.