Early Spring at Wave Hill

P1030127

I rushed up to Wave Hill after class last Friday. This is the year to appreciate early spring. The crocuses that were fried in seconds last year are happily showing off right now. Wave Hill has a really nice collection of them, along with many different kinds of galanthus, scilla, and helebores, plus carpets of Chionodoxa sardensis. I’m definitely heading back up once the magnolias start blooming. Can’t wait!

IMG_2575

Only did tiny dance of joy after finding this.

IMG_2608

IMG_2606

IMG_2600

IMG_2591

IMG_2595

P1030120

P1030112

This pairing is both over the top and kind of awesome.

IMG_2562

They had a nice collection of oxalis in the alpine house.

IMG_2589

Iris reticulata (‘Katharine Hodgkin’?)

IMG_2559

6 Comments

Filed under Amy, Flowers

6 responses to “Early Spring at Wave Hill

  1. Daryl

    Thanks for the beautiful photos from Wave Hill.
    I am imagining that you threw in a tree shot just for your uncle.

  2. Carol

    Thanks for the beautiful spring flower pictures. Happy Easter Amy . Love Gma.

  3. Cathy

    Love the mauve crocuses .
    Happy day

  4. Shaun

    still stunningly and deeply white here…these pictures give me hope!!
    love,
    Shaun

    • Amy

      Every time I get impatient with the weather I try and remind myself it could be worse…
      Summer WILL come one day!