Banana Oatmeal Waffles

Aunty Shelley came for a visit this week, so we went to a choir concert of Renaissance Spanish love songs, Avenue Q and a contemporary dance performance at The Joyce. More culture and conversation than I usually get in a week these days, that’s for sure. It reminded me of why I live in this city. I need to pick up the Time Out more often and see some more art while my student status garners cheap tickets.

I really do enjoy having people come visit, so you should think about it if you have a bit of cash sitting around. I promise yogurt for breakfast and clean sheets on the air mattress. Also very buttery popcorn.

So, enough distraction, I realize it’s Thursday and I’m supposed to provide some links. Unfortunately, I have been falling majorly behind on my internet trawling so I’m giving you a waffle recipe instead. Enjoy!

Some lovely country photos by Tim Robison

Maple blueberry syrup – going to make this for waffles

Tuileries herbaceous borders full of pink foxglove

Waffles all pretty much look the same, so there is no picture for you. These banana oatmeal waffles are soft and substantial (really no crisp at all). Perfect for guests who want a bit more heartiness to their brunch. I haven’t tested it extensively so there is probably room for refinement, but honestly, these waffles were so good that I doubt I will change much in the future. Dorie suggests adding cinnamon but I liked them just fine without. I doubled the recipe for 5 with a belgian waffle iron. I’m finding the trick to waffles is about 1 cup of flour to every 3 people, at least with my friends’ appetites. If someone has a better calculation you should let me know.

Banana Oatmeal Waffles barely adapted from Waffles: From Morning to Midnight by Dorie Greenspan

Makes enough waffles for 2-3

4 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled 
1 c. oats (I used quick but she suggests old-fashioned)
1/2 c. all purpose flour
1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3 tablespoons packed brown sugar
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
2 eggs
2 medium-size ripe bananas, sliced thinly or mashed (I mashed frozen ones)
 
1. In a large bowl whisk dry ingredients, then add the buttermilk and eggs and whisk until just combined. Mix in the banana and butter.
2. Make waffles! Stir the batter occasionally in case the bananas have settled.
3. Serve with maple syrup, whipped cream, honey, butter…
Comments Off on Banana Oatmeal Waffles

Filed under Amy, Food

Comments are closed.