Chocolate marshmallow mound cookies (and hating being an adult)

Image

Dear Amy,

Can you believe that it’s almost been a year since we started? I know, I use the term “we” loosely, as you have been carrying this blog alone for months. Thank you.

We are another year older (your birthday is a mere 2 days away!) but not necessarily wiser. Perhaps a little more cynical than we should be on some days…most days.  You still like me despite my propensity to make lofty unattainable goals and do crazy, stupid (times a million) things, and I love your wavering level of sanity and your lovely little laugh (especially when laced with disdain).

And so, I aspire to contribute more frequently, as I am working a mere 69 hours/week as opposed to the 70 I’ve been keeping for the last 6 months. Haha. I kid. But I should have a bit more time soon, and I will do my best.

I made these cookies because I felt the need to be a kid again, just for a bit. When I was little, I had a thing for Wagon Wheels. I only ever had them at other kids’ houses, as they were never in our household, and there was something about their gooey marshmallow centre and chocolate coating that stuck with me.  I suppose, I don’t have to convince you, Aim, of that, as I have recently learned about you and marshmallow fluff (GASP!).

Lately, I’ve been really trying to understand money and financial matters, but some part of me just shuts down and I have a really hard time understanding anything related to my bank account. Surely it can’t be any more complicated than “Save more than you spend”, right? This, plus the recent string of events that have taken place in far away lands, my new grown-up job that terrifies me every shift, and looking for a new apartment in Calgary…suffice to say, I hate being a grown-up.

And so, I bring to you my version of a chocolatey marshmallowy delight. The cookie bottom is delicious on it’s own, with jam or the chocolate ganache sandwiched in-between, but the real fun is smooshing the marshmallows into the cookie. Om nom nom. They taste much better the day after, as the cookie has softened a bit and the whole thing sticks together a little easier after the chocolate hardens. My ganache coating didn’t harden to the point of cracking, but it did the trick.

P.S. On a totally un-related note…’cause I’m like that…I am OBSESSED with Birdy. So much talent, and she’s only, like, 15. Ridiculous.

Image

Chocolate-glazed Marshmallow Mounds (from Great Cookies by Carole Walter)

Makes 40 2-inch cookies

Graham Cracker Base:

  • 1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¾ cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

40 marshmallows, regular size (each bag I bought had about 30 marshmallows)

Chocolate Ganache Coating:

  • 6 oz semi-sweet chocolate, cut into small pieces
  • ¾ cup heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp light corn syrup
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  1. Whisk together flours, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  2. With an electric mixer, beat butter until slightly lightened in colour, then add sugars, creaming until fully incorporated. Add honey, egg, and vanilla.
  3. Add dry ingredients in 3 additions, mixing only to blend after each addition
  4. Divide into two discs, wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least 2 hours until firm.
  5. Preheat oven to 350 F. Roll out each disc on a lightly floured surface, about 0.5 cm thick. Cut out circles using a 2-inch round cookie cutter. Bake for about 10 minutes. Remove cookies from the oven, but leave it on.
  6. This is the fun part: place a marshmallow flat side down on each warm cookie and return to oven for 2 minutes. Do not overbake, otherwise the marshmallow will start to melt.
  7. Using the palm of your hand, lightly smoosh the marshmallow into the cookie, aiming for round-ish edges, but honestly, if it’s bumpy, don’t worry about it at all. Still delicious. Promise. Let cool.
  8. While they’re cooling, put your chopped chocolate into a bowl. Put the cream and corn syrup into a pot over the stove, and bring to a simmer. Add the hot cream mixture to the chocolate and stir until the chocolate is melted and you have chocolate ganache! Ta da!
  9. The ganache will start to thick as it cools. When it gets to a thick chocolate syrup consistency, where it’s not entirely runny and shows signs of resistance, that’s when it’s good to go.
  10. Dip the cookies, marshmallow side down, into the ganache, and place on a cooling rack to set. For mess control, it’s best to place the cooling rack over a cookie sheet. I didn’t dip the bottom of the graham cookie in the chocolate, but I don’t see why you couldn’t.
  11. Leave to cool/harden in the fridge overnight.

Image

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Jess

One response to “Chocolate marshmallow mound cookies (and hating being an adult)

  1. Chef Vuong

    The Mug…!