Weekly Links

A potted anemone from Union Square Market

Well, magnolia season has blown by us, leaving behind a mess of soggy petals, but the cooler weather is extending the life of everything else. Everyone else grumbles, but frankly I’ll take a little wind and rain if it means the daffs will stick around a few extra days. Spring is so good for my mental health, it’s unbelievable.

I’m sorry there’s been a dearth of recipes up here. The truth is I haven’t really been baking much lately. Or doing anything really, other than going outside. Maybe we’ll put the cake recipe up that we make today. And likely they’ll be some cupcakes or something baked next week, so I guess if you’re interested in more frosted desserts you should check back! Also, as soon as rhubarb hits the market there shall be crumble, i.e., the perfect breakfast food.

In other news, we went to see Death of a Salesman with Philip Seymour Hoffman, Andrew Garfield and Linda Emond. I was captivated until the last half hour when the play just devolved into crying and yelling. But overall, I found the characters more nuanced than I expected and the play addressed a number of things I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting on. I’m finding it hard to be coherent this morning so I’ll just suggest that if you’re in NYC you go see it yourself.

Loving the eastern redbuds everywhere. They glow in the afternoon sun.

A trip to a ranunculus grower. And more Saipua goodness.

Oceanscapes

Great blog by a woman volunteering at Great Dixter (Uncle D!) – Check out this post on Sissinghurst, especially the Delos garden

Hellebores and clematis

A lovely meal in Smith Tower

I went to Kenwood House for the first time many years ago now and I have surprisingly strong memories of it. One of them is the Rembrandt self-portrait, which you can currently see at the Met. This NYT article makes a compelling case for a little Rembrandt fieldtrip from the Met to the Frick.

This is an old link, but I feel like with the snowstorm many of you are returning to cold weather food. So make some cheese biscuits!

Note: No apologies that this has become a narcissus appreciation blog. One day I’m joining the Daffodil Society and growing them to exhibit.

Comments Off on Weekly Links

Filed under Amy, Flowers, Links

Comments are closed.