Let it snow

Dear lovely blog readers,

This autumn just flew by, with nary a baked good in sight on my end! Lots of exciting things happened between the lines, though – I moved downtown, finished another third of my internship (only 12 weeks left in my University degree!!!) and I started working at one of the top restaurants in Calgary. I’ve been easing back into baking regularly by baking for them every Sunday, but none of my creations has been picture-worthy ’til now.

These cookies were inspired by Amy’s annual baking party, which I will dearly miss this year, as I only get to be home for 4 days at Christmas. Last year, we made the most perfect snowflakes, and I tried (in vain) to recreate Aim’s sugar cookies and royal icing. I know Aim is making turkey and pie for American Thanksgiving, but for me, it’s definitely time for Christmas. We (my roommate and I) put up our Christmas tree on Wednesday, and we’ve been eagerly perusing the William-Sonoma catalogs with a sharpie in hand.

Sugar Cookies (adapted from Carole Walters’ “Great Cookies”)

  • 2 1/3 cups cake flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt
  2. Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy
  3. Beat the egg and vanilla together in a separate bowl, then mix it into the butter/sugar mixture
  4. Add the dry ingredients in 2 additions, mixing until just combined.
  5. Divide the batter into quarters, shape into discs, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 min.
  6. Roll out the dough to about 1/4 inch thickness and get out your favourite cookie cutters! You can put an egg wash and sprinkles on them now, or decorate with royal icing after they’re baked…
  7. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes – this will depend on the size and shape of your cookies. Keep an eye on them, and take them out just as the edges start colour.

Royal icing: 1 to 2 ratio of meringue powder to water (I used 1/4 cup meringue powder and 1/2 cup water), and then add icing sugar to thicken to your desired consistency.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Jess

One response to “Let it snow

  1. Wow… these are so impressive… I just might have to try making these:) Perfect for a Christmas platter…