Crispy and Tender Whole Wheat Waffles

When eating waffles with a large group, it's best to share them, hence the quarter waffle (with whipped cream and berry sauce). Not only does it keep everyone happy, but prolongs the occasion as well!

Waffles continue to be a high point in my life. Yesterday morning’s waffle club meeting was particularly fantastic. My friends even hauled over their coffee grinder and maker because “not everyone lives in Amyland, we all drink coffee, ok?” With 10 people attending, I wasn’t going to argue. Actually, overall I feel like we really upped our game. It wasn’t just sheer numbers – we’ve had a breakfast that big before. But with coffee, mimosas (provided by some new waffle club members), this strawberry/blueberry sauce I cooked up, whipped cream, fruit salad, grade B maple syrup, and two waffle irons churning them out hot every 2 minutes, I’d say we did pretty well for ourselves. Granted, there was no bacon, but give us time.

As a bonus, the girls stuck around and helped clean up before succumbing to the need to study. I’m obviously made of sterner stuff and opted for a walk in the park with the puppy who seems to grow more hyper by the day. You can’t blame me, it was +17˚C out. While Jess is over there making Christmas cookies, I’m still admiring the roses and raking leaves in Central Park. By the way, oak leaves are waaaaay more fun to rake than elm. Take that into consideration when buying your next tree (although, I don’t even think there’s a contest – oaks are always a better choice).

Anyways, remember my last post about waffles, where I claimed that buttery whole wheat recipe was the best? Lies. It was lies. Below is a superior recipe, which I’ve tested at least a half-dozen times in the past few months, although I’ll admit I haven’t really played around with it other than adding whole wheat flour in varying amounts and changing up butter and oil ratios. I haven’t quite gotten the serving size down to a science yet but it doesn’t really matter, just cook up all the batter and then freeze the leftover waffles. They reheat in the microwave or toaster like a dream. The corn starch works miracles in keeping the outside crisp and the inside light and moist.

This photo courtesy of a founding waffle club member (and maker of expertly diced fruit salads)

Crispy and Tender Whole Wheat Waffles (adapted from Food52)

Food52 says this serves 4. I usually quadruple it for 7 using a Belgian-style iron. This morning I multiplied it by 6 and probably would have been perfect at 5x, but I love having waffles in the freezer (and whipping cream in the fridge) so I’m not complaining.

3/4 cup flour (I usually do half to 2/3 whole wheat and the rest white)
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
1/3 cup vegetable oil (sometimes I do half melted butter, but the batter is smoother with all oil)
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar (oops, I forgot this and the vanilla this morning, neither are absolutely necessary)
3/4 teaspoon vanilla
 
1. Whisk together the flour, cornstarch, baking powder/soda and salt in a large bowl.
2. Add in buttermilk, oil or butter, egg, sugar and vanilla and mix until smooth.
3. Let sit for at least 15 minutes, preferably 30, and can be left for at least an hour with no ill effects.
4. Heat iron as soon as first guest arrives and start waffling!
 

Simple Berry Sauce

Makes about 2 cups. As an added bonus to an easy and delicious waffle topping, it smells like summer and everyone who walks in the door will exclaim over it.

3 cups (approx.) mixed frozen berries (I used strawberries and a few handfuls of blueberries)
2-3 tablespoons sugar or more to taste
a few generous squeezes of lemon juice
splash of vanilla
 
1. Cook berries on medium-low heat until melted, then add sugar and lemon juice. Bring to boil and simmer until thickened slightly – probably 10-15 minutes.
2. Taste, add more sugar and lemon juice until you’ve rounded out the flavor (frozen berries tend to take on bitter notes). Add splash of vanilla if desired.
3. Continue gently simmering until sufficiently saucy or until you get bored/guests arrive. Serve in something classy, like a liquid measuring cup, that matches your collection of borrowed cutlery, plates, and 12 different styles of mugs and glasses.
 
5 Comments

Filed under Amy, Food

5 responses to “Crispy and Tender Whole Wheat Waffles

  1. Your waffles turned out so thick and fluffy! Delicious with the sauce… I always used to freeze the extras for school day mornings for my son:)

  2. Anthony

    I am going to make these and then dream about Yams until Christmas comes… ❤

  3. Natalie

    I made this morning and they were amazing. Thanks Amy!!