Plum yogurt cake

Hipster-student plum cake

Well, ask and ye shall receive: here’s the plum cake recipe. Not that any of you actually asked, I’m just giving you this recipe for your own good. You’ll have noticed by now that I never make anything fancy. It’s true, I’m the laziest baker around. I enjoy delicious things, I find mixing to be relaxing, but I don’t ACTUALLY want to dedicate large parts of my free time to it unless it’s in preparation for a) Christmas, b) Thanksgiving, or c) my birthday (and sometimes other peoples’ too). Baking dates also precipitate greater willingness to embark on pastry-related adventures, but let’s not get too technical here. The point is, I think everyone should have an arsenal of really easy recipes that they can whip out at a moment’s notice. These aren’t going to win you awards but they satisfy cravings and are appropriate dessert fare for close friends and family (what baked good isn’t appropriate for family though, am I right? Family=people who eat burned cookies/fallen cakes/ugly cupcakes).

This yogurt cake is definitely on my short list. I once made it in 5 minutes. Thank god my oven is small and heats up quickly. I’ve made it with apples, peaches, and blueberries, and occasionally with no fruit at all. Sometimes I stick to the original and use lemon zest, sometimes I go the spice route. I leave it to you to decide. Following Drunk Kitchen’s example I leave you with this message: the easiest recipes set you free. Don’t be afraid to bake this cake with only two eggs or maybe you should try it with some almond flour instead of whole wheat and some brown butter instead of oil. Sometimes I grate an apple into it for added moisture. The yogurt always works its miracles and the cake rises nice and easy: sweet but not too sweet, dense but not too dense… your loved ones may even suggest you could sell it!

Plum Cake – adapted from Orangette

8 or 9 inch cake – May want to serve this with some whipping cream for dessert (it’s definitely a snacking cake level of sweetness when you use brown sugar. You could use all white sugar if you wanted).

1/2 c. yogurt (I always use vanilla because it’s what I have, but the original suggests plain)
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. white sugar
3 eggs
3/4 c. whole wheat flour
3/4 c. unbleached all-purpose
2 teaspoons baking powder
Cinnamon (probably 1/2 to 1 teaspoon, until it tastes good)
Ginger (1/2 teaspoon?)
Cloves, pinch
1/2 c. canola oil
3-4 plums or enough to cover the top in slices or halves as suits your fancy
 
1. Set oven to 350 degrees farenheit. Grease 8 or 9 inch round or square pan.
2. Mix yogurt, sugar and eggs in a medium-sized bowl.
3. Add flour, baking powder and spices. Mix just until incorporated.
4. Add in oil and mix just until incorporated. Taste for spices. Possibly add some diced plums or grated apple?
5. Pour batter into pan and top with sliced plums.
6. Bake 30-35 min until toothpick comes out clean or the edges have pulled away and the middle is firm.
 
 
2 Comments

Filed under Amy, Food

2 responses to “Plum yogurt cake

  1. Shaun

    once you made a really really beautiful (aka fancy) wedding cake.

    • Amy

      It’s true… I thought about adding a number of exceptions (weddings? dinner parties with people I want to impress? a recipe I absolutely can’t live without in my life?) but then I got tired and ate some plum cake instead.