High Summer


This weekend has been a quiet one but I did make it out to the market bright and early yesterday morning, managing to score strawberries with which I made a brown butter tart, and this bouquet. I didn’t actually put this one together, it’s all thanks to River Garden Farm. Right now their stall is so full of goodness it takes me at least 15 minutes to make a decision. Do I want the old-fashioned zinnias? Some of my beloved verbena bonarensis or cosmos? There are salvias galore and all kinds of grasses. I finally asked about that one grass I’ve been using that sort of fountains out over the arrangements. They call it ‘frosted explosion’ (Panicum elegans). Apparently it also dries well. If you see it around, BUY IT… for me.

Back to this week’s bouquet though: I bought it because it felt like something Mom would like, so hope you appreciate the pictures! She’s always been one for bright colors, especially yellows and pinky reds. This arrangement has rudbeckia, gomphrena, persian carpet zinnias, snapdragons, celosia (the more common plume type plus the one that looks like fuzzy brains [celosia cristata]), and small white flowers that are possibly chamomile?


1 Comment

Filed under Amy, Flowers

One response to “High Summer

  1. mom

    I LOVE the bright yellows – and you are right, Mom loves it