Waffle Love

Excuse the sad distribution of whipping cream - this obviously was not my waffle

I arrived here over a year ago now – excited, but generally terrified. I was so worried about not finding friends, not fitting in, hating everything about law school… Turns out I really didn’t need to worry about the first one. I’m sure they’re all tired of me marveling over their continued willingness to spend time with me, but away from home in a stressful environment, friends are so incredibly important and I didn’t really appreciate that until now. And truly, I am so lucky to have them. And not just because in the past week they have given me muffin tins and loaf pans and joint ownership in a waffle iron…

That’s right, you read that correctly: joint ownership in a waffle iron, to be stored at my apartment (location subject to renegotiation in two years). It all began when two of my friends lent me their appliances for the summer – a blender, a food processor, and a waffle iron. I never really bothered with the waffle iron, it was always my dad’s thing, not mine. But then peak berry season hit and all I wanted was strawberries, whipping cream and waffles. And lo, there it was. Since then we’ve had brunch once or twice a week, trying out new recipes and enjoying lazy summer mornings, and they’ve been some of my favorite memories from the past few months. The smell of waffles is like some kind of drug, everyone slows down and seems happy to pitch in to help with breakfast preparations. And after we’ve all stuffed our faces, there descends an indulgent quiet and I silently vow to make as many brunches as it takes to get us all through this next year.

Waffle fixings: whipping cream, grade B maple syrup and seasonal fruit (peaches and blueberries)

Whole Wheat Buttermilk Waffles (adapted from The Breakfast Book by Marion Cunningham)

These are the best damn waffles. So buttery and delicious. I cut the butter down by 1/4 c. but the original recipe calls for 3/4 c. melted, we tried it like that one morning and I just wanted to eat the waffles plain, they were that amazing. But for most Sunday mornings it seems a bit excessive (and my mother would kill me. I’m continuing to try to cut the butter, mom, don’t worry!).

3/4 c. whole wheat flour
3/4 c. all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
3 eggs
1 1/2 c. buttermilk
1/2 c. butter, melted and cooled
1/4 c. or more of milk (until batter reaches desired thinness)
 
1. Melt butter and start waffle iron heating.
2. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl.
3. Beat eggs in separate bowl and add buttermilk and butter.
4. Combine wet and dry ingredients, stir just until well-combined. Add in milk until the batter spills off spoon. Make waffles!
 

P.S. I realize my waffle story trailed off… My friend, realizing that I would eventually have to return the waffle iron (despite threats to the contrary), decided the brunch plan was a worthy investment and so now we have our very own and I can’t stop telling everyone about it. Yay, kitchen appliances (and friends who buy them for you, obvs)!

Comments Off on Waffle Love

Filed under Amy, Food

Comments are closed.