Chocolate almond sandwich cookies & Prince’s Island Park

Calgary has been hot lately. I went for a run today in the 30 degree sun, and I loved it. No more mini donuts and corn dogs until next year’s Stampede, but in the meantime, I got some delicious strawberries, rainier cherries, and tomatoes from the market. Sorry, I ate them too quickly to take photos…

After an eventful day out at Stampede on Saturday, I met Lindsay in Eau Claire downtown, and we spent a quiet afternoon walking around the gardens, eating various frozen treats, and making Vitamin D. We had originally planned to see Midnight In Paris, but it was too gorgeous a day to sit inside. I may take myself out to a movie tomorrow night on cheap Tuesday.

Last weekend, I made Gourmet’s Whoopie Pie recipe, and unfortunately…they came out looking like giant turds. Yes, I just wrote that. If that’s what an “authentic” whoopie pie is supposed to be like, count me out. They were too tall to eat properly, couldn’t sit flat, and had a slightly too-dense matte texture to them. Heading back to the drawing board, I remembered Deb’s Homemade Oreo recipe over at Smitten Kitchen, and I think that’s more my kind of whoopie pie…or sandwich cookies…whatever it is.

These cookies are delicious alone, but when sandwiched with Amy’s nut butter icing, they’re heavenly. The best thing about this icing is that it’s forgiving – if my measurements don’t work out for you, feel free to experiment and put your own spin on it.

P.S. They’re most delicious if you chill the finished cookies in the fridge and then dunk them in a glass of ice cold milk. Yum.

P.P.S. Did you notice my cute scalloped baking dish? Guess where it’s from – I’ll give you a hint…starts with C…and ends with “-rate & Barrel”. I’m smitten, I tell you.

Chocolate Almond Sandwich Cookies (makes ~15 sandwiches/30 individual cookies)

Chocolate cookies, adapted from Smitten Kitchen 

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs
  1. Whisk all dry ingredients together in a large bowl, stand mixer, or food processor. Since I’ve begun living on my own, I do everything by hand, but I suspect it might be have been a lot easier with either of the latter two appliances.
  2. Beat in the butter, a little at a time, and then the eggs, one at a time, until the dough comes together.
  3. With buttered hands, form rounded teaspoon balls of dough, flatten slightly, then place on a parchment-lined baking dish. These cookies will spread quite a bit, so leave at least 2 inches between them.
  4. Bake at 375 F for 8-9 minutes
Almond butter icing 
  • 1/2 cup of cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup icing sugar
  1. Beat the cream cheese and butter together until fluffy
  2. Add the almond butter, and then the icing sugar.

If it’s a little too runny for you to work with (especially on a hot summer day), chill it in the fridge, and it should harden up to be spreadable on the cookies. You can be generous with these cookies, but if you have any left over, it’s good on practically any other cookie…or yes, by the spoonful too.

Comments Off on Chocolate almond sandwich cookies & Prince’s Island Park

Filed under Food, Jess

Comments are closed.