Monday thoughts & banana chocolate chip oatmeal cookies

  • Calgary, I’ve realized, is a magical place during Stampede. For 10 days, everyone unabashedly wear plaid shirts and cowboy hats & boots everywhere, including the hospital. I just love that the whole city buys into it. For an asian girl who wanted to be a country singer when she was little…it’s probably the closest I’ll get.
  • I started my pediatric rotation today, and I’m drained. Physically, emotionally, mentally…I’ve been waiting for this rotation for 4 years, pretty much. I have a whole month with peds, and I’m gung-ho about getting the most out of each day with them and their families. I’m studying with an amazing healthcare team, and I can’t wait to see what’s next.
  • Every summer, I read The Poisonwood Bible and it makes me think…about my time in Africa, how I can contribute when I go back next, inequality, ignorance, materialism, and perception of wealth. My copy of this book is water-damaged, dog-eared and definitely well-loved.
  • I made banana chocolate chip oatmeal cookies tonight. Though, really, they should be called Jessica’s Cookies of Restlessness and Indecision. As usual, I’m concocting a myriad of ideas about what to do with my life and where to go next, and these cookies are a pretty good representation of that. They’ve got a bit of everything with no real direction, but in the end they’re still delicious. I had a dear friend visit me (unexpectedly) this weekend, and I may send him some to thank him for being a sounding board to my random ideas and worldly aspirations. Thanks, Charles.

Jessica’s Cookies of Restlessness and Indecision

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 cups baking oats
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup pecans, toasted (optional)
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F
  2. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and oats together in a bowl. Set aside.
  3. Cream butter and sugars together, until homogenous. Add in the mashed banana, then mix in the egg and vanilla.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture in 3 additions. Stir in the chocolate chips and nuts. (This can definitely be altered by whatever you like/have on hand – chocolate chips, nuts, coconut, dried fruit, whatever!)
  5. Make big cookies – My recipe made a dozen. I like this size because they still stay soft in the middle and usually 1 cookie is good enough.
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until the edges are golden brown but the centre is still a little soft.
2 Comments

Filed under Food, Jess

2 responses to “Monday thoughts & banana chocolate chip oatmeal cookies

  1. Jess, I thought you cooked these on the BBQ for a second. The countertop underneath looks like charcoal. I started reading the Poisonwood Bible a couple of years ago, and then I think I left it at my Mom’s house when I was back visiting. I should definitely scrounge up a copy and read it again.

  2. Hahaha, Rosie, I can only imagine what cookies done on the BBQ would taste like…perhaps we should try Shannon’s bacon cookies on one next time…?