Brownies

I’ve been having the oddest baked goods cravings lately…mostly for those terrible processed cinnamon buns from the grocery store (I know, ew). I was at Safeway on Tuesday evening, and I picked them up and put them away twice. Twice. What a lesson in self-control. The truth is, I enjoy baking probably more than I do eating the baked goods, and I just have to remember that when I get to the store.

Tonight, I got home and set out flour, chocolate chips, eggs, and butter with the intention of making chocolate chip cookies…but brownies called, and they turned out pretty well. A little dry, but that was probably my fault – I always overbake brownies. The Joy of Cooking calls these Brownies Cockaigne – what exactly does that mean? (edit: it just means a classic recipe according to the JoC)

Brownies, adapted to the one-person-household and fit a loaf pan, from the Joy of Cooking

1/4 cup butter

2 oz unsweetened chocolate

2 eggs

a dash salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup pecans

Preheat the over to 350 F. Line a loaf pan with aluminum foil and butter.

  1. Melt the butter and chocolate together (I used the microwave).
  2. Set aside, and let it cool, while you whisk the eggs and salt in a separate bowl until frothy.
  3. To the eggs, gradually add sugar and vanilla, and continue beating until thick.
  4. Now that the chocolate mix has cooled, stir it into the egg/sugar mixture
  5. Using a wooden spoon (even if you were using a whisk before), stir the flour in until just combined fully (as few lumps as possible!)
  6. Stir in pecans if you want. (Here’s where I went wrong: dumped in the remainder of pecans in the jar without thinking that it could possible be too much. Now, as I eat my brownie, I see that there might be thing as too many pecans, oops!)
  7. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Don’t overbake your brownies (i.e. take them out at max 25 minutes)! They will thicken as they cool.
Comments Off on Brownies

Filed under Food, Jess

Comments are closed.