Tropaeolum (commonly known as nasturtium)

My nasturtiums are blooming like mad here, and I just took a little bouquet of them down to my favorite doorman (along with some rhubarb loaf). Clearly, I’m still new to this whole blogging thing because I totally forgot to photograph them. Never mind, there’s more where those came from. In the mean time, here’s a picture of one of my favorite arrangements from last year. A simple one of poppies and nasturtiums, both of which bloom for most of the summer, in hot yellows and oranges. Although, my favorite nasturtium has got to be the cherry red ones. You can find seeds for them here.

Nasturtiums are one of the easiest flowers to grow by seed and are excellent ground cover by August, even tolerating the heat. This makes them a cost-effective and whimsical addition to any garden. Plus, the flowers are edible. I have never been able to resist the charms of nasturtiums, and it was one of the few plants that I was determined to grow from seed in my apartment. The plants are definitely leggier then they should be, but the satisfaction and joy they bring is undiminished.

Comments Off on Tropaeolum (commonly known as nasturtium)

Filed under Amy, Flowers

Comments are closed.