Weekly Links: Pink and white centerpieces

I volunteered to do the flowers for the public interest dinner again. I was enboldened by last week’s success with garden roses and based the designs around them (David Austen ‘Rosalind’ and ‘Phoebe’). My market buying skills are still a work in progress. I totally overbought carnations (I have NO IDEA what I was thinking… no idea…) and the jasmine was virtually useless, but otherwise everything is gone. I made an extra one this year and it got used, for a total of 12. All looked different and it was a nice exercise to just play with limited options. They get easier by #5 because you learn how the flowers move/take up space so much better. Just staring at that top photo is making me anxious so I’m moving on to the links portion.

How to cook for 200 people in a disaster

Why trees die in a drought (they have a stroke)

Immortal jellyfish! This article was epic and just plain entertaining (the main scientist followed is described as Japan’s Bill Nye the Science Guy)

A beautiful Sunday Supper

I wouldn’t make these cookies, but I love Dorie Greenspan videos. She’s so delightful! I would make these ones of hers (speculoos buttons!)

Or maybe brown butter ginger cookies?

Or baci di dama? Sorry, it’s Christmas season and I always become mildly cookie obsessed.

I actually went looking for a Saipua wedding the other day, in need of something to dreamily gaze at, and low, what popped up the next day in my feed but this beauty!

Nostalgia in landscape design

Tudor homes in the UWS?! FOR REAL.

This Bali wedding is mindblowing. She’s sewn into a dress made of jasmine. I want one.

All boxed up for transport: dusty miller, ranunculus, David Austen roses, lisianthus, tulips (yay! fringed edges!), jasmine, carnations, carnations, CARNATIONS

Comments Off

Filed under Amy, Flowers, Links

Comments are closed.